Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home4/derok6/public_html/chop-n-change/plugins/system/cdnforjoomla/helper.php on line 27
give-the-braves-a-ford-c-frick-award-winner-2 | November | 2005 Articles

2005 Archives

Give the Braves a Ford C. Frick Award Winner

on .

The 2006 Ford C. Frick Award fan ballot is online now, allowing fans to choose THREE out of 183 broadcasters to be named to the final ballot, which will be announced in December.
  • WHEN TO VOTE: The ballot will be available for the entire month of November and will close at midnight on December 1.
  • HOW OFTEN: Only one vote per person per day will be counted. (Hint: use two email addresses, one for your first name and one for your middle name.)
  • HOW TO PICK: "Voters may select up to three candidates and should base their selections on four criteria: longevity; continuity with a club; honors, including awards and national assignments, such as the World Series and All Star-Games; and popularity with the fans."
VOTE HERE! At least six current Braves announcers are on the ballot (arranged in order according to my favoritism): Skip Caray, Pete Van Wieren, Don Sutton, Joe Simpson, Ernie Johnson, and Chip Caray. Skip Caray and Pete Van Wieren are at the top of my list for this award. Upon completion of the 2005 season, both have spent 30 seasons announcing games for the Atlanta Braves, tying each other for seniority on the staff. Together they have won the Georgia Sportscaster of the Year award 15 times in those 30 years (nine for Van Wieren, six for Caray, plus one for Joe Simpson in 1995). Okay, so Van Wieren may be considered the better announcer by the "experts", but doesn't it seem like the most memorable calls in the last several years were made by Skip? Remember Francisco Cabrera's two-out single and Sid Bream careening around third, or do you remember Skip Caray shouting "Braves win!" five times, including a gasp for breath in the middle? What about the final call of the 1995 World Series, when the Braves "brought the first world championship to Atlanta"? Okay, I'm a Braves fan, and this is a Braves blog, so it's my job to remind you to vote for the Braves' best, but I won't try to convince you who among the other four is deserving of your third vote, or that you should vote against any other favorites you may have. My primary goal is to inform you that there is an online ballot, and you have 28 days (including tonight) to vote once per day (per name and email address)! So vote now, and vote again tomorrow! (The Ford C. Frick Award is presented annually to a broadcaster, active or retired, for major contributions to the game of baseball. A minimum of 10 years of continuous major league service with a club, network, or combination thereof is required to be considered.)

You Might Like...